Regular Season Awards Handed Out at End-of-Year Reception

Atlantic Hockey James Alexander Michie

On March 21, 2019, the Atlantic Hockey Association announced its winners of the regular season at the annual start of the weekend of the Tournament Championship in Buffalo, New York.

It should be noted that at the reception they announced six important individual prizes that were determined by the 11 coaches of The Atlantic Hockey. In this way, the best player of the year was recognized, as well as the best defenseman, rookie of the year, best defensive advance, individual sportsmanship and coach of the year.

Likewise, the performance of other hockey personalities was recognized as well as the scoring champion, the goal champion and the winners of team sportsmanship, together with the members of the Teams of the entire Conference and all the novices, who they announced themselves last week.

The winners of the night

As already mentioned, the Atlantic Hockey Association has awarded several male hockey personalities, both players and coaches.

In this way, we can mention the winners. Player of the year and the best defender was Joseph Duszak, Mercyhurst junior. Ludwig Stenlund, forward of the Niagara, was recognized as rookie of the year. For his part, Joshua Lammon, Mercyhurst senior, established himself as the best defensive forward. While Dylan McLaughlin, Canisius senior striker, was awarded individual sportsmanship. Also, there was also place for the coaches and who was the winner of the best coach of the year was Eric Lang, AIC. The Scoring Champion (only conference games) was Blake Christensen, junior forward AIC. The Champion of Goaltending (only in conference games) was Billy Christopoulos, a veteran of the Air Force. And the Sports Team Award was taken by Niagara University.

The Atlantic Hockey semifinals will take place this Friday, March 22 at 4:30 p.m. and at 7:30 p.m. in its inaugural season at Harbor Center in Buffalo, New York. Game one features American International’s #1 and #8 Robert Morris, while Game 2 faces the #5 Rochester Institute of Technology against #6 Niagara. The winners meet in the championship game on Saturday at 7:30 P.M. and the champion wins the automatic bidding for the NCAA Tournament conference, which begins March 29 and 30 at the regional sites.

Read more.

Source: The Atlantic Hockey

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *